Peter Alegi

14717057_757379561066603_3118360363406229606_n
Team USA and Italy at the 2015 FISTF World Cup

I was born and grew up in Rome, Italy, where Subbuteo boomed in the 1970s and 1980s. After playing against my older brothers in fierce family derbies, at the age of eight I participated in my first official tournament: the Lazio regional of the Guerin Subbuteo. In the early 1980s, I represented Lazio twice in the Guerin nationals (juniors category) before moving to the U.S.—a Kalahari of soccer at the time.

After a decade-long hiatus, on a whim I took part in the 1997 U.S. Nationals in Glastonbury, CT, where I lost 0-1 in the quarterfinals to eventual champion, Marco Silva. After a fourteen year break, I started playing again, this time in Michigan. In 2014 I won Flicko de Mayo (FISTF Satellite) and placed second in the 2015 U.S. Nationals (Veterans category). Later that year, I had the honor of being part of the USA team at the FISTF World Cup in Italy. I am also proud of having recently played in the first WASPA “Test Match” in Africa. My Subbuteo adventure continues . . .

2 Replies to “Peter Alegi”

Leave a Reply

